Little man turns 7!

Dear BWD,

Today we celebrate you and your 7th birthday. 7! How did that happen so fast? I feel like I blinked and you went from a little bug who loved to sleep curled up on me to a skinny, long legged boy with big feet. The only time you would nap was when you and I would curl up together. I never minded to be honest, I loved getting all comfy with you and taking a nap for as long as you napped. I stopped worrying about all the things I felt I had to do and focused only on holding you.

No matter how big you get you will always be my baby, my amazing rainbow baby who changed my life in so many ways. On your 7th birthday I decided that this is as a good a time as any to start a tradition every year on your birthday.  I will write you a letter letting you know all the things that I love about you and all the things I hope never change.

 

 

 

May you never lose your curiosity. While your never ending questions can sometimes be exhausting, I love that you want to learn it all. Never stop learning, there is always something to learn and improve on.

May you never lose your love of travel. Right now they have been somewhat small adventures, but never forget that the world is so big and so vast and there is so much to see, do and learn. Travel as often as you can, and take pictures and write about everything you do!

May you never lose your silliness. The world is full of people who take life too seriously, and who quite frankly need to lighten up. You make me laugh and you don’t even realize how funny you are.

May you stay feisty and stubborn, but remember there is a time and a place to let that shine! Seriously, keep being stubborn when it comes to your goals and know that you can achieve anything with hard work.

May you never lose your grit. See point above! This is super important! Remember that you won’t win every game or race. You won’t always come first and sometimes might come last, but never get angry. You either win or you learn. There is so much to learn from a loss that will make you so much stronger than those that always win. The important thing is to remember is that your grit & perseverance will get you far! You will hit roadblocks throughout your life, sometimes more than you would like, but don’t let those stop you. Keep moving forward, keep your eyes on your goal and I know you will do amazing things.

May you never lose your big heart. I love this about you. I love that when you see I am upset about something, you wrap your arms around me, hold me and give me kisses. Don’t lose that! You promise? You are so kind to your friends and when they hurt, you hurt and you want to help them smile again. Do you know how special that is?

I love that you want to be a baseball player, a basketball player, a snowboarder, a pilot, a scientist, fly to space, run races as fast as you can, go to the Olympics for swimming, go on a safari. I love your focus and determination when you set out to accomplish a goal. Each week I watch you become a faster & stronger swimmer, runner, basketball player and in the winter snowboarder and I love that you refuse to let anyone tell you “you can never be ….because of…”. Break the “norm” and show the world what you can do. Like you always say “look at Marcus Stroman mommy” #HDMH

These are just a few things. The list is long, but the most important thing to know is that you make me proud to be your mom. You are funny, smart, kind, a good friend,  compassionate. Keep being you, keep sharing every second of your day with me and know that I am always here for you no matter what. Remember to live everyday being gentle, patient, strong and kind. Never stop standing up for what you believe in.

My Brady, thank you for choosing me to be your mommy. I know that your twin may not be with you physically, but I know they are forever “with you” celebrating you.

Happy Birthday to you
Happy Birthday to you
You look like a monkey
Annnnd you smell like one too!

 

Leave a comment